11 Mitchell Lane, Glasgow G1 3NU
Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Page/Park Architects
Formerly The Herald Building, this was the first public commission Charles Rennie Mackintosh worked on and opened in 1895. Join tours to discover the history, see panoramic views of the city, workshops and exhibitions.
Join us on a 45 minute tour to learn more about the history of The Lighthouse, Charles Rennie Mackintosh's first public commission and the former head offices of The Glasgow Herald newspaper.
Mon - Sat, 10:30am - 5pm; Sun, 12pm - 5pm
Tours: Sat & Sun 12pm, 1pm, 2pm, 3pm; 45 minutes.
Meeting point: Reception, ground floor entrance.
Booking essential for tours - opens 1st September at 10am.
Accessibility: Limited access - Entrance to the building is fully accessible and there is a lift to take visitors to each floor. There is a spiral staircase in the Mackintosh Centre on Level Three that leads up the Mackintosh Tower to an outdoor viewing platform - this is not accessible.
Facilities: Toilet, Wheelchair Accessible Toilet, Staff will have undergone Accessible Tourism Training.
Parking: Disabled parking is available on Mitchell Street. There is an NCP Carpark on Mitchell Street but this is not associated with The Lighthouse.