141 Bridgegate, G1 5HZ
1873 & 2009, Clarke and Bell & Nicoll Russell Studios (Cat A)
The Briggait is a beautiful Category A-listed building that served as Glasgow’s fish market for 100 years. It now provides workspace for 80 artists and cultural organisations, as well as regularly hosting exhibitions and events.
Explore this beautiful Category A listed building in Glasgow’s medieval quarter, the Merchant City. One of Glasgow’s most enduring and endearing landmarks, The Briggait has been a part of the River Clyde skyline since the Nineteenth Century. Built in 1873, the Briggait served as the city’s bustling fish market for over 100 years. The building also incorporates the ‘Merchant’s Steeple’, built in 1665, notable for being one of the few remaining parts of Medieval Glasgow.
After the closure of the fish market in 1977, The Briggait was set for demolition. To save the building, The Briggait Shopping Centre was created, but only lasted for 5 years. The Briggait then lay in a semi derelict state for almost 25 years. By the turn of the millennium it was clear the building was in severe need of restoration. In 2001, Wasps Artists’ Studios set out on the long road to redevelop the building into a studio complex and arts venue, which was finally completed in 2009.
Wasps is one of the UK’s largest studio providers housing 900 visual artists and arts charities at 19 sites across Scotland, transforming multiple at-risk historic buildings into beautiful art facilities. The Briggait now provides studio space for over 80 visual artists and office space for 25 cultural organisations and charities. The impressive 1873 Hall remains largely unchanged since its inception and now plays host to a diverse programme of exhibitions and events.
Visitors to the Briggait will have the chance to take in the building’s stunning and unique architecture, to learn more about its fascinating history and take in some fantastic visual art at the same time.
Mon-Fri & Sun 9.30am-5.30pm
Tours: Mon-Fri & Sun 11am & 2pm; 30-60 mins.
Booking essential - opens 1st September at 10am.
Accessibility: Fully Accessible - there are no stairs into the building. All areas of interest are accessible via a ramp or lift.
Facilities: Toilet, Wheelchair Accessible Toilet.
Parking: King Street Car Park Located Across the Road - charges apply.
Parts of the building are private artists’ studios and are not accessible to the public. Access to a number of studios will be given as part of a guided tour.
Images © Andrew Lee