Steam and Steel: the origins of shipbuilding on the Upper Clyde
This walk starts at Water Row by the Govan Ferry where an introduction to the development of the Clyde and the origin of shipbuilding and marine engineering will be given. The walk then proceeds eastwards along the pathway that defines the slipways of the former Harland & Wolff shipyard. From this location Govan Dry Docks and the location of Queens and Princess Docks can be identified. Retracing its steps, the walk enters the recently reinstated Govan Old Walkway, once a public right of way that caused shipbuilders considerable annoyance.
Walking passed Govan Old Church, we reach Govan Road to pause at the Pearce Institute gifted to the people of Govan in 1906 and then the statue known locally as ‘The Black Man’, erected in memory of Sir William Pearce in 1894. We continue westwards along Govan Road passing the A-listed former headquarters of the Fairfield Shipbuilding & Engineering Co. Ltd. until Elder Park is reached. Here, the statues of John Elder, Isabella Elder, the portico of Linthouse Mansions and the original Fairfield Farm building will be briefly described. The circumstances of the loss of submarine K13 in 1917 will also be outlined beside the memorial erected to its memory in 1921.
The walk concludes at Fairfield Heritage where a short presentation will be given in the amazing Fairfield Boardroom. Participants will then be left to explore the museum dedicated to the achievements of this great shipyard.
Wed 18th, Fri 20th, Sun 22nd, 11am; 60-90 mins
Meeting point: Water Row, Govan ferry pontoon
Booking essential - opens 1st September at 10am
Accessibility: Fully accessible.
Nearest Train/Subway: Govan Subway
Parking: Some street parking available.