Maryhill Burgh Halls
10 - 24 Gairbraid Avenue, G20 8YE
1878, Duncan McNaughtan
Visit the Category B listed Burgh Halls of the historic Burgh of Maryhill. View the iconic stained glass windows designed by Stephen Adam, learn about the unique heritage of the area’s industrial and social past, and find out who was Mary Hill.
The stunning stained glass windows portray the variety of trades in Maryhill and offer a glimpse into the past of those who lived and worked in the area in the time of renowned maker and designer Stephen Adam. Maryhill, once an expanse of fields in the Gairbraid Estate quickly grew into a thriving industrial area where families flocked to live and work upon the expansion of the Forth and Clyde Canal. The Burgh Halls built in 1878 became a social and civic hub of the community, with a bath house, fire station and police station located next door. Join a tour of the Halls to learn the story of its refurbishment, a story of progression into the 21st Century and celebration of a long standing heritage and find out who was Mary Hill?
Tours: Fri-Sun 11am & 2pm; 45 mins
Meeting point: Foyer
Booking essential for tours - opens 1st September at 10am.
Accessibility: Flat access to front doors. Accessible lift to all floors, accessible toilets on all floors (two on ground floor)
Parking: Free parking situated in all roads surrounding. 6 disabled spaces at front doors