5 Langside Ave, G41 2QR
1847 (relocated in 1902/1903), John Gibson (Cat A)
Originally the National Bank of Scotland in Queen Street, Langside Halls was dismantled and moved brick by brick to its present location in 1902-03. Take a tour of this unique building, and learn about its architecture, sculptures and history.
Langside Halls was originally one of the city's most
imposing commercial buildings, the National Bank of Scotland at 57 Queen Street, designed in 1847 by John Gibson, a prolific bank architect, with sculpture by John Thomas who also worked on the decoration of the Houses of Parliament. In 1902, the building was moved brick by brick to the Southside and rebuilt on the edge of Queens Park. Langside Halls were officially opened on the 24 December 1903. Come along and find out about the fascinating history of this unique building, take a tour and learn about the architecture, sculptures and history of the building.
Come and join Langside Halls Trust & Co-operative for 2 days of tours, art, sport, music, dance, disco and kid's activities. You can find out about the heritage of the building and the local area as well as purchasing an early Christmas gift from Southside Artist and Makers Market.
Sat-Sun 11am - 5pm
Tours: Sat-Sun every hour 11am-4pm; 15 mins
Booking not required.
Accessibility: There are some areas of the building that are only accessible by stairs
Parking: On street parking available nearby