35 Lynedoch St, G3 6EF
1860, Charles Wilson
Built during the 1850s, Trinity House was once a training college for Scotland's Ministers. This stunning landmark building represents the power and influence once possessed by the Free Kirk. Climb the tower for fantastic views over the park and West End.
Trinity house was built by Architect Charles Wilson during the 1850s after he won a competition for the right to design it. Not only was he required to be a good Architect, but the winner also needed to be a member of the Free Kirk. Trinity House was constructed on Woodland Hill, originally the first choice for the new Glasgow University, after the Free Kirk managed to get their hands on it first. The building was used as a training college for the Ministers of Scotland for a period of 112 years, and has been described as ''an eccleastical lighthouse'' and ''one of Britain's most outstanding pieces of Victorian house planning. Enjoy the opportunity to look around this stunning landmark building, and find out more about its rich history.
Tours: Sun 4pm, 5pm, 7pm; 30 minutes
Booking: Fully booked
Sunday 16th September 4pm
Sunday 16th September 5pm
Sunday 16th September 7pm
Glasgow Building Preservation Trust
Wellpark Enterprise Centre
120 Sydney Street, Glasgow
Registered Company Number: SC079721
Scottish Charity Number: SC015443