37 Riverside Road, G43 2EG
1899, Henry Edward Clifford (Cat B)
Impressive perpendicular Gothic revival style church with beautiful WW1 memorial stained glass windows. Explore our recently discovered WW1 archives, and hear music played by talented young people. See how the building has evolved into a thriving community space for over 20 multi-generational organisations.
The architect appointed was Mr H.E.Clifford of Glasgow and work was completed in 1899. It has Category B listing. There is a beautiful oak pulpit, communion table and choir stalls. There is also an impressive stone Baptismal font. The main windows to the church are arched with ornate stone mullions and transoms known as tracery. All windows have leaded glass panes. There are two beautiful WW1 memorial stained glass windows. Come and hear music played by talented young people! The WW1 archive includes a Roll of Honour, handcrafted in 1915, letters to local hospitals detailing entertainments to wounded soldiers, war risk insurance documents, an honourable discharge signed by King George V and much more.
Booking not required
On street parking available
Accessibility: Wheelchair ramp to side entrance. Church building and halls are level access. Disabled toilet.
The young people of the church will guide you through these archives - linking past to present. There are 20 multi-generational organisations using the building and halls today. Come and meet them and find out what they offer the local community. Enjoy tea, coffee and cakes in our WW1 themed cafe. Children will be able to take part in an activity trail and enjoy making other crafts.
Glasgow Building Preservation Trust
Wellpark Enterprise Centre
120 Sydney Street, Glasgow
Registered Company Number: SC079721
Scottish Charity Number: SC015443