5 Langside Ave, G41 2QR
1847 (relocated in 1902/1903), John Gibson (Cat A)
Originally the National Bank of Scotland in Queen Street, Langside Halls was dismantled and moved brick by brick to its present location in 1902-03. Take a tour of this unique building, and learn about its architecture, sculptures and history.
Langside Halls was originally one of the city's most
imposing commercial buildings, the National Bank of Scotland at 57 Queen Street, designed in 1847 by John Gibson, a prolific bank architect, with sculpture by John Thomas who also worked on the decoration of the Houses of Parliament. In 1902, the building was moved brick by brick to the Southside and rebuilt on the edge of Queens Park. Langside Halls were officially opened on the 24 December 1903. Come along and find out about the fascinating history of this unique building, take a tour and learn about the architecture, sculptures and history of the building.
There will be an exhibition of the history of the building with photographs, illustrations and maps. Find out about the Langside Trusts plans for the future of the halls. Attend a pop up music/theatre event on Saturday and Sunday to celebrate the Trust and their partners’ plans for the future of the halls.
Tours on the hour; 20 minutes
Booking not required
On street parking available nearby
Accessibility: There are some areas of the building that are only accessible by stairs
Construction works that are being under taken for the new civic square in front of the halls, making the building not fully accessible.
Glasgow Building Preservation Trust
Wellpark Enterprise Centre
120 Sydney Street, Glasgow
Registered Company Number: SC079721
Scottish Charity Number: SC015443