1048 Govan Road, Govan, G51 4XS
1890, Honeyman and Keppie (Cat A)
Come and learn about the Clyde’s great shipbuilding history in the Category A-listed former headquarters of Fairfield shipyard. See the grand boardroom where the Queen would have been received, and learn about the building’s prestigious maritime heritage.
These magnificent Grade A Listed offices reflect the prestige of the once world renowned Fairfield Shipbuilding & Engineering Co. Ltd. The former managers’ offices and the Boardroom now form Fairfield Heritage whose excellent displays tell the enduring story of shipbuilding on the Clyde. Normally only open 1-4pm on weekdays, Fairfield Heritage will be open 10am - 5pm from Monday to Sunday during Doors Open week with tours available on request. At the week-end you will be also able to see the former Shipbuilding Office where draughtsmen created the plans for proposed ships. This space beautifully lit with natural daylight now provides desk space for young start-up companies with modern technical skills who design software, websites and apps, known as Rookie Oven. There will be plenty of activities to keep children and young people engaged at the week-end.
Tours available on request; 30 minutes
Tour meeting point: Entrance hall
Booking not required
Parking available in surrounding streets
Accessibility: Entrance for visitors with mobility issues to rear of building via glass door. This leads to lift which avoids the few steps to enter. The ground floor is fully accessible with a wheelchair/mobility scooter. The first floor is accessible by lift.
Glasgow Building Preservation Trust
Wellpark Enterprise Centre
120 Sydney Street, Glasgow
Registered Company Number: SC079721
Scottish Charity Number: SC015443