39 Napiershall Street, G20 6EZ
1890, Robert Alexander Bryden
Once Napiershall Public School, the Napiershall Street Centre is now home to a variety of community groups and other organisations. Admire its many original features and find out how different organisations are re-using the old classrooms to serve the community.
The original design of the school is said to be designed by Robert Alexander Bryden, who is listed within the Dictionary of Scottish Architects. The building, now owned by City Property, is in need of repair. However, it still boasts of much of the original features, such as, the arches, the plaque dedicated to the former headmaster - John B. Freebairn M.A – and a plaque of Queen Victoria. It is clear that what seemed to be a plain building from the outside had a very attractive interior. The building is now hosting tenants who have customised each of the original classrooms into office purpose rooms, and part of the tours organised will include visits to previous classrooms and some of the organisations who are now based there.
Thu & Fri 10am-5pm, Sat 2-5pm
Tours: Thu-Fri, 11am & 3pm, Sat 3pm; 30 minutes
Meeting point: Reception
Booking essential for tours - email@example.com, 0141 337 6626.
Parking: Car park adjacent
Accessibility: Main hall is level access, upper floors only accessible via stairs
We may be able to cater for diverse language needs, and provide information in larger print
Restricted access to first and second floors for individuals with accessibility/mobility requirement
Glasgow Building Preservation Trust
Wellpark Enterprise Centre
120 Sydney Street, Glasgow
Registered Company Number: SC079721
Scottish Charity Number: SC015443